Search the Cinema Head Cheese Archives!

February 25, 2011

Sid and Marty Krofft's H.R. Pufnstuf coming soon from Vivendi Entertainment!



Iconic Children’s Series Presented in Standard and Collector’s Editions with All 17 Episodes on Three Discs, and a Rare Episode of “Horror Hotel” on DVD for the First Time Ever.

Buy H.R. Pufnstuf: Complete Series on DVD

Collector’s Edition Accompanied by Exclusive Bobblehead

Buy H.R. Pufnstuf: Complete Series Collector's Edition on DVD

Both Sets Due Out April 12 from Vivendi Entertainment

LOS ANGELES (February 24, 2011) – As H. R. Pufnstuf marks 40 years since the series ended its trailblazing run on Saturday mornings, Vivendi Entertainment honors the iconic Sid and Marty Krofft creation with H. R. PUFNSTUF: THE COMPLETE SERIES. This three-DVD collection features all 17 episodes, which were originally broadcast between 1969 and 1971.

Presented in standard and collector’s editions, both versions include the entire series accompanied by downloadable vintage coloring sheets, and – for the first time ever on DVD – the rare series episode, “Horror Hotel.” In addition, the Collector’s Edition comes with an exclusive H.R. Pufnstuf bobblehead. Each will be available April 12 at all retail outlets for a suggested list price of $24.99 (standard) and $34.97 (collector’s).

Four decades have past since H. R. Pufnstuf left NBC airwaves, but the colorful series remains popular, not only among those reliving their childhood, but also with others discovering the whimsical world of Living Island for the first time. As a testament to the series’ longevity, Los Angeles based KCET, the largest independent public television station in the country, recently added H. R. Pufnstuf to its weekend line-up of children’s programming.

H. R. PUFNSTUF: THE COMPLETE SERIES is the latest release to stem from the partnership the Krofft brothers and Vivendi Entertainment formed last year. The ongoing collaboration promises to produce a series of DVD sets and compilations that will spotlight the sibling puppeteer’s iconic catalog of children’s television shows.

One of those programs, Lidsville, is heading to the big screen courtesy of DreamWorks Animation. The Krofft brothers will serve as executive producers for the project, which marks the first animated feature film adaptation of their work.

The Kroffts have been producing entertainment treasured by families for more than 40 years. Sid & Marty rose to prominence in the ’70s with a series of remarkable programs that featured elaborate sets and fanciful characters. H.R. Pufnstuf was the first in a long line of popular programs created by the Kroffts, including The Bugaloos, Land Of The Lost, Sigmund & the Sea Monsters and The Krofft Supershow to name but a few. The Krofft’s success led them to produce various prime-time series and specials, including The Brady Bunch Hour, The Donny & Marie Show and Barbara Mandrell & The Mandrell Sisters series.

H.R. Pufnstuf: The Complete Series

DVD Episode Listing

Disc 1

1. The Magic Path

2. The Wheely Bird

3. Showbiz Witch

4. The Mechanical Boy

5. The Stand-In

6. The Golden Key

Disc 2

1. The Birthday Party

2. The Box Kite Kaper

3. You Can’t Have Your Cake

4. Horse With The Golden Throat

5. Dinner For Two

6. Book, Flute and Candle

Disc 3

1. Tooth For A Tooth

2. The Visiting Witch

3. The Almost Election of Witchiepoo

4. Whaddya Mean the Horse Gets the Girl?

5. Jimmy Who?


A Never Before Released Episode of Horror Hotel from the Krofft Superstar Hour

Downloadable Vintage HR Pufnstuf Music and Coloring Book


Relive the Saturday mornings of your youth with the first series from legendary producers Sid & Marty Krofft! When a boy names Jimmy finds himself stranded on Living Island with his magic gold flute Freddy, he is taken in by a talking dragon named H.R. Pufnstuf, who is the mayor of Living Island. Pufnstuf tries to help Jimmy escape, while at the same time tries to avoid the evil Witchiepoo who wants the magic flute all to herself.

H.R. Pufnstuf: The Complete Series

Price: $24.99

Street Date: April 12, 2011

Pre-Book Date: March 8, 2011

Catalog Number: SI2961

UPC: 883476029610

Language: English

Running time: 374 minutes

Rating: NR

H.R. Pufnstuf: The Complete Series – COLLECTOR’S EDITION

Price: $34.97

Street Date: April 12, 2011

Pre-Book Date: March 8, 2011

Catalog Number: SI3048

UPC: 883476030487

Language: English

Running time: 374 minutes

Rating: NR

No comments:

Post a Comment